Hat 2 Da Back

Who would you say is your biggest style icon? This is a question I’ve been asked a lot recently and although my style is influenced by lots of people, it can pretty much be summed up in one word (or acronym if you want to be clever) .. TLC. There’s so many things I love about these girls I can’t really write it all in a blog post because I’ll be here all day, but they inspire my style as they got the whole tomboy vibe down to perfection, making baggy clothes look sexy and not really caring what anyone thought of them. That’s kind of my thought process when I get dressed, if I’m out and I see someone look at me like “what they hell is she wearing” I feel good haha! Too many girls dress for guys or to impress other girls in the style stakes, I just think we should all wear what ever we want and have the confidence to do so! Chilli, Left Eye (R.I.P) and T-Boz will always be my no.1 icons, not just for their style but for everything they stood for; from trying to raise awareness about then-taboo subjects to the fact that they didn’t do anything to impress anyone, preferring to stay true to themselves and their “i don’t give a f#!k what you think of me” attitudes. They were such amazing role models, teaching girls in the 90’s about how to be confident, not to chase men and don’t do everything for them , let them do everything for you instead! It was hip-hop’s version of female empowerment, as opposed to today when girls feel like they have to be half naked to get a man’s attention!  As for their style it was always ON POINT.  I literally can’t think of anyone else who’s style I rate as highly as theirs, I love how they wore oversized men’s sportswear, layering with crop tops to add a lil sex appeal. I still watch their videos on a weekly basis because they inspire me so much, everything they did was so fresh & original and even to this day hard to imitate.

I recently found this jumper in Oxfam & it reminded me so much of something TLC would wear! I def can’t pull it off in the way that they could but I gave it a try, with a denim cap for the “Hat 2 Da Back” effect!

Suzan Selcuk, Syselcuk, TLC, 90s Style, @syselcuk

What do you all think of TLC’s style? Who are your style icons? Let me know! I’ll leave you with one of my fave TLC vids “Hat 2 Da Back” 🙂 Enjoy!

5 comments

  1. Nice blog! would you mind following each other via bloglovin? 🙂

    /Malin @ http://fashionfied.tk

  2. emilyyyy · · Reply

    I love your jumper dress! Soo retro, and I love TLC too, gonna get baby baby baby on my ipod now! 😀

  3. That was a crazy rad comment from you! Thank you! And your style is soooo right up my alley. I’m glad i found you. keep it up grrrl

  4. Thank you for your comment on my blog.
    Your blog is great.

    petitesideofstyle.com

  5. Harmony Lee · · Reply

    you are dope your style is dope n your blog is dope!! dope dope dopeness

Leave a Reply

